Language selection

Government of Canada / Gouvernement du Canada


Making Gender-based Analysis Plus sustainable

On this page

Building a framework to support GBA+ in your organization

A Gender-based Analysis Plus (GBA+) framework consists of six elements which, together, provide a foundation for an organization’s sustainable and systematic use of GBA+. It can be adapted to any organization’s structure and needs.

The same framework elements apply regardless of your organization or sector. All of the elements are essential to the framework, although they do not necessarily have to be implemented in the order below. Some may occur simultaneously; or, some elements may already be in place in your organization, providing a basis around which to build the rest.

The GBA+ framework elements are as follows:

Framework elements
Text version of image

This figure shows that the six elements of the GBA+ Framework are connected. Each of the elements is written in white letter in a blue box and they are connected by a blue circle. Starting at the top and going clockwise, the elements are: Responsibility centre, Needs-assessment, Policy statement, Training and tools, “Pilot” initiative, and Monitoring. In the middle of the circle in black lettering it states “GBA+ Framework.”

GBA+ framework: Key lessons learned

GBA+ Logo

For more information on how to implement GBA+ in your organization, each of the elements of the GBA+ Framework, and an illustrative example, see the optional modules of the Introduction to GBA+ online course.

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date modified: